The Rotary Lombardy Award was established in 1970 by the Rotary Club of Houston in memory of Vince Lombardi to honor the top NCAA FBS college football lineman, offensive or defensive or, linebacker.  Eligibility for the award was recently expanded to include any college player who demonstrates outstanding performance and skill in offensive or defensive positions and best exemplifies the discipline, virtue and wisdom that defined Vince Lombardi's exceptional brand of leadership.
All net proceeds from the award benefit the American Cancer Society Hope Lodge, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Children’s Cancer Hospital and Texas Children’s Hospital Cancer and Hematology Center. Since its inception, millions of dollars have been raised to support cancer research and direct patient care.
The Rotary Lombardi Award trophy, made from 40 lbs. of Texas pink granite chiseled to resemble the stance of a lineman, is presented annually in Houston at a gala Presentation where the four finalists are honored.
Eight previous winners and finalists are members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
77 RLA winners and finalists have been chosen in the first round of the NFL draft - nine were number one picks.
Defensive ends have won the most RLA trophies.
36 winners have come from the defensive side of the ball and 9 from the offensive side.
Orlando Pace is the only multiple winner of the RLA trophy, winning in 1995 and 1996. Nine winners of the award were a previous year’s finalist.
37 previous winners and finalists are members of the college football hall of fame.
45 NCAA FBS colleges have winners or finalists

2016 Sponsors